About the Gorton Electorate

Gorton Electorate

Named in honour of the Rt Hon. Sir John Grey Gorton GCMG AC CH, 1911-2002. Gorton was Prime Minister of Australia (1968–71), a Senator for Victoria (1949–68) and a Member of the House of Representatives (1968–75).

Area: 217 sq km

The Division of Gorton consists of:

  • part of the Brimbank City Council, and
  • part of the Melton City Council.

Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan – situated in capital cities and containing large areas of recent suburban expansion.